The list of all contesting candidates for 13th Nagaland Legislative Assembly Election

4752 Views No Comment

The Chief Electoral Officer, Abhijit Sinha, IAS announced the list of 195 contesting candidates along with one uncontested Candidate  in a Press Conference held at Media Cell, CEO Nagaland today the 12th February, 2018.


Out of 257 candidates nominated, 228 candidates were found to be valid and 29 nominations were rejected. On the last day of withdrawal 32 candidates withdrew their candidature. With this, 195 candidates will be contesting for the upcoming Nagaland Legislative Assembly Elections which is slated on 27th February, 2018.  MP Lok Sabha, Neiphiu Rio from 11 Northern Angami II A/C was declared as elected uncontested candidate.


CEO Nagaland in his address said there are 2196 Polling Booths in Nagaland, in 555 Polling Stations where internet is available, there will be live webcasting and others will be videotaped where an assigned operator will look after, all will be monitored by respective RO and DEO, and also CEO Office. The videos will be stored and observed by the Election Commission of India.


He mentioned that everywhere VVPAT will be used. VVPAT allows a voter to physically see the details of the candidate he/she has voted and will be seen by the voter alone in a printed slip in VVPAT which will then be cut and dropped into drop box. He said there are 3300 Ballot Unit and 3400 VVPATs. EVMs and VVPATs will be commissioned from 16th February onwards and will be sent to respective Polling Stations by 21st or 22nd February.


CEO also stated that there are 11,91,530 voters this time, an increase of about 2000 from the last General election. There are 5925 Service Voters who will be voting through Postal Ballot. Since November Polling Stations have been classified in three categories- Critical, Vulnerable and Normal. Cases where in the last Election if voting was more than 75% or a candidate got 75% of the votes or places with complaints of booth capturing falls under Critical category. Cases of threats of intimation to voters or element of violence falls under Vulnerable category and others are placed in Normal category. He added that figures may change with the process of political campaigns. Presently there are 1100 Critical, 530 Vulnerable and 566 Normal Polling Stations which have been classified by DC, SP and respective Administrative Officers.


He further mentioned that 281 CAPF Companies will take part in the State Elections where 77 Companies have already arrived, 204 will join from 20th February onwards after the Tripura Elections  on 18th February, 2018.  There will be atleast one company per Constituency.


He informed that all 55 Election Observers have arrived. There will be 22 General Observers, 22 Expenditure Observers and 11 Police Observers. Each Polling Station will be manned by 7 people including the personnel for manning the Voter Assistance Booth placed outside the Polling Booth, around 18000 Government Employees will be on duty directly. Some Polling Stations will be manned only by women.


He also informed that 4-Ghaspani I A/C has the highest number of voters with 65643 voters and 27-Mokokchung Town A/C has the lowest number of voters with 7129 voters. The Polling Station with lowest electorate is 64 Kiuro Village under 60  Pungro Kiphire A/C with 33 electors and the Polling Station with highest electorate is 57 Chumukedima under 4 Ghaspani-I with 1364 electors.  He added that a Committee at the district level gives certificate to all the Political Advertisement coming out in the papers and so far four cases of paid news have been recorded and referred to the respective Deputy Commissioners.


List of Party-wise candidates contesting the State General Elections:-


NPF      -58

BJP       -20

NPP      -25

NDPP   -40 (39- one uncontested)

JD (U)   -13

LJP       -2

NCP     -6

Ind       -11

AAP      -3

INC      -18

Contesting Candidates- 195, Elected Uncontested Candidate-1


Check the full list below


list of contesting candidates 2018


Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked (required)